Towns unanimously voted as Rookie of the Year


Karl-Anthony Towns has been voted as the unanimous winner of the NBA Rookie of the Year award.

The league announced on Monday that Towns - the first overall pick by the Minnesota Timberwolves in last year's draft - had been selected as the recipient of the honour after collecting all 130 first-place votes.

Kristaps Porzingis of the New York Knicks was second with the Denver Nuggets' Nikola Jokic third.

Center Towns averaged 18.3 points and 10.5 rebounds in becoming the second consecutive Timberwolves player to win the award.

Andrew Wiggins received the prize last season but he and Towns will need a lot more help to make Minnesota a contender after a 29-53 finish this season.

The Timberwolves will find out how high they will pick in this year's draft when the annual lottery takes place on Tuesday and are reported to have an 8.8 per cent chance of being awarded the first overall selection.