Player of the Tournament Kohli captains World Twenty20's best team


Virat Kohli has been selected as captain in the International Cricket Council's team of the World Twenty20.

Kohli won the Player of the Tournament award for the second successive edition after his 273 runs in six innings helped India to a semi-final berth, where they were beaten by eventual winners West Indies.

The highlight of his tournament came in that final-four defeat, an unbeaten 89 off 47 balls not enough to earn India a spot in the final.

He is listed at number three in the batting order of the ICC's selection of the best performers, with England's Jason Roy at one and South Africa wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock at number two.

Two Windies players make the cut, but final heroes Marlon Samuels and Carlos Brathwaite are not included - the honour instead belonging to Andre Russell and Samuel Badree.

New Zealand spinner Mitchell Santner earns a spot having taken 10 wickets in five matches, while England's David Willey is also included for the same amount of scalps in one match more.

Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Shane Watson and Ashish Nehra make up the remainder of the XI, with Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman - who had the best figures in a single match with 5-22 against New Zealand - named as the 12th man.

World Twenty20 Team of the Tournament in full:

1. Jason Roy
2. Quinton de Kock
3. Virat Kohli
4. Joe Root
5. Jos Buttler
6. Shane Watson
7. Andre Russell
8. Mitchell Santner
9. David Willey
10. Samuel Badree
11. Ashish Nehra
12th man. Mustafizur Rahman