Chawrasia ends wait for Indian Open glory

SSP Chawrasia sunk a third birdie of the day at the final hole at Delhi Golf Club to end his long wait to lift the Indian Open title.

The overnight leader had looked in trouble heading down the last, but a sensational approach from the rough left him within a few feet of the hole and the title.

He coolly sunk the putt to finish 15 under and take victory by two shots from Anirban Lahiri and Wang Jeung-hun.

Chawrasia - who has been runner-up on four previous occasions - twice needed to battle back from bogeys during his final round before his birdie four at the 72nd hole of the tournament ensured a one-under 71 and the title.

Victory sees the 37-year-old reclaim his European Tour privileges, which he lost last season after finishing 113th on the Race to Dubai.

Wang made his charge up the leaderboard with three birdies in his first nine holes, and another at the par-five 14th saw him finish 13 under, tied with 2015 champion Lahiri.

Lahiri also made a stunning start as he picked up three shots in the opening three holes to share the lead, but a bogey at the ninth halted his charge.

Behind them Angelo Que and Adilson Da Silva shared fourth place on 12 under, with Gregory Havret one of four players a further two shots back.

It was a day to forget for Terry Pilkadaris, though, as the Australian fell from second place to a tie for 15th after a horror 76 that included a double bogey at the 10th.

Read Full Story