Wawrinka, Berdych advance as Murray loses


Stan Wawrinka and Tomas Berdych advanced to the BNP Paribas Open fourth round as Andy Murray suffered a shock loss.

Swiss third seed Wawrinka did what was expected of him, overcoming Russian Andrey Kuznetsov at Indian Wells.

Berdych survived a brief second-set hiccup before beating Croatian Borna Coric, while Murray's exit headlined Monday.

The Brit was a surprise loser to Argentine left-hander Federico Delbonis in three sets.


Murray was scratchy in his opening win and that continued before he was punished, losing 6-4 4-6 7-6 (7-3) to Delbonis.

The British second seed and 2009 runner-up led 4-1 in the third set before needing to recover from a break deficit, only to go down in the tie-break.

Wawrinka had no such problems, claiming a 6-4 7-6 (7-5) victory over Kuznetsov.

Berdych was also cruising against Coric, but he coughed up a 4-1 second-set lead before winning 6-1 7-6 (7-3).


Joining Murray as seeded departures were Bernard Tomic and Alexandr Dolgopolov, who came up against players ranked higher than them.

Tomic retired with a wrist injury when trailing Milos Raonic 6-2 3-0, while Dolgopolov suffered a 2-6 6-2 6-1 defeat to Richard Gasquet.


Gael Monfils dropped just 12 points on serve in his 6-1 6-3 thrashing of Albert Ramos-Vinolas.

Murray's loss to Delbonis was his first to a left-hander not named Rafael Nadal since May 2011, when he was beaten by Thomaz Bellucci in Madrid.


Murray lamented his performance, saying: "I think it's just the conditions here I have just struggled with throughout my career. I have never really felt that I played my best tennis here."

Delbonis, meanwhile, lauded his victory as his finest. "I have had a couple of big wins, but in this situation it was special. For that tournament, for that surface, for me is the best win," he said.


Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal are the men to watch on Tuesday. World number one Djokovic takes on Philipp Kohlschreiber, while Nadal is up against the man who stunned him at the Australian Open, Fernando Verdasco. Kei Nishikori and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga are also in action.