Delight and disappointment for Trott at UCI Track Worlds


It was a day of contrasting fortunes for Laura Trott at the UCI Track World Championships as she clinched gold in the scratch but suffered disappointment in the team pursuit.

Earlier in the day in team pursuit qualifying, a poor performance from the British quartet saw them finish fifth, meaning the best they can hope for now is a bronze medal.

But, in front of vociferous home backing at Lee Valley VeloPark, Trott's day picked up in the evening session in the scratch, the double Olympic gold medallist forcing her way to the front with a lap to go before fending off the chasing pack.

Trott finished ahead of defending champion Kirsten Wild, while Stephanie Roorda of Canada completed the podium.

It went some way to making up for the disappointment in the team pursuit, after Trott and Elinor Barker had lost contact with Ciara Horne and Joanna Rowsell Shand, who crossed the line several seconds behind their team-mates.

"It's a disappointing performance. There's no way of dressing that any differently," said Iain Dyer, head coach of British Cycling.

"What we've got to do is turn it around and get ourselves back into medal contention tomorrow. We can still ride for bronze. We've got to look at the data today and work out the best way to go forward from here."

Trott's gold in the scratch was followed by men's team pursuit glory for Australia, whose quartet of Sam Welsford, Callum Scotson, Michael Hepburn and Miles Scotson saw off their British rivals, who included Bradley Wiggins among their ranks.

Australia pipped GB on the final lap and finished in three minutes and 52:727 seconds - the second fastest time in history and 1.1secs clear. Beforehand, Denmark had beaten Italy to bronze.

In the women's keirin, Anna Meares was unable to defend her title, the Australian finishing second behind Germany's Kristina Vogel, with Great Britain's Becky James delighting the home faithful to take bronze.

There was a triumph for Joachim Eilers in the men's one kilometre time trial. The German had finished second at the 2015 championships, but went one better this time around, finishing in one minute and 0.042 seconds.

That was enough to see off the challenge of Theo Bos of the Netherlends (+0.419secs) and France's Quentin Lafargue (+1.539secs).