ICC names two female umpires for World T20


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named two female umpires on a list of 31 match officials for the World Twenty20.

Kathleen Cross of New Zealand and Australia's Claire Polosak are included for the tournament that runs from March 8 to April 3 in India.

Cross will make history in the women's match between Pakistan and Bangladesh on March 16 when she will become the first female umpire to officiate in the World T20 alongside Anil Chaudhary.

In 2014, Cross became the first woman to be included in an ICC umpires' panel after being added to the ICC Associate Affiliate Panel of International Umpires, and she has officiated in three Women's World Cups.

Polosak is to make her World T20 debut on March 18 when she performs on-field duties with Vineet Kulkarni in the women's match between New Zealand and Ireland.

She made history by being appointed third umpire for the Matador One-Day Cup, becoming the first female to officiate in a List 'A' Australia competition.

An ICC statement added: "Their appointments in the ICC Women's World Twenty20 2016 comes as the game's governing body continues to place an important emphasis in recognising that cricket is a game for all, and hopes that this will inspire more women across the globe to become involved in officiating and participating in cricket."