Foley, Murphy and Gilroy replace injured Ireland trio

Dave Foley, Jordi Murphy and Craig Gilroy have been called up to Ireland's Six Nations squad after injury ruled out Mike McCarthy, Sean O'Brien and Dave Kearney.

On Friday, coach Joe Schmidt revealed that O'Brien and Kearney were "likely" to miss the remainder of the tournament with respective hamstring and shoulder problems.

McCarthy, meanwhile, could be out for the season after a clash of heads with team-mate Jack McGrath during the 10-9 defeat to France at the Stade de France last time out.

As a result, Foley, Murphy and Gilroy have been called up as the defending champions prepare for their meeting with England at Twickenham on Saturday.

Murphy featured at the Rugby World Cup, while Foley and Gilroy's last appearances came in 2014.

Cian Healy and Mike Ross also return to the fold after being passed fit, although Tadgh Furlong and Rob Herring's thigh injuries means they will remain with their club sides.

Ireland's narrow defeat in Paris means Schmidt's men have just one point to their name from their opening two matches, while England have started their campaign with away wins over Scotland and Italy.


Ireland forwards: Finlay Bealham, Rory Best, Sean Cronin, Ultan Dillane, David Foley, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Tommy O'Donnell, Mike Ross, Rhys Ruddock, Donnacha Ryan, CJ Stander, Richardt Strauss, Devin Toner, Josh van der Flier, Nathan White

Backs: Keith Earls, Craig Gilroy, Robbie Henshaw, Patrick Jackson, Rob Kearney, Ian Madigan, Kieran Marmion, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Jared Payne, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo.

Read Full Story