Hamlin secures victory at wreck-filled Sprint Unlimited


Denny Hamlin avoided the drama at Daytona International Speedway to secure victory at the season-opening NASCAR Sprint Unlimited race on Saturday. 

Hamlin, who was competing in his first race since undergoing ACL surgery in the off-season, completed the win after a six-car wreck set up the first ever finish under the new NASCAR "overtime" rules. 

Carl Edwards, Casey Mears, Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski and Aric Almirola were involved in a crash behind the leaders which saw the race extended another four laps.

However, 35-year-old Hamlin managed to hold off Joey Logano to win a second Sprint Unlimited in three years.

The exhibition race was slowed for multiple incidents, with one of the biggest coming on the 23rd lap when Brian Vickers' tyre blew out heading into the first turn, causing a seven-car pile-up.

The crash claimed the likes of Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Kurt Busch and AJ Allmendinger.

Six-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson had a tough night of his own, spinning through the grass on lap 48 which saw his night come to an early end. 

A total of 11 out of the 25 drivers invited to the event did not manage to finish the race.