Steyn returns for World T20, both Morkels omitted


Dale Steyn will lead South Africa's bowling attack at the World Twenty20 after being confirmed in the Proteas' 15-man squad.

Steyn has struggled with a shoulder injury in recent weeks, which has left South Africa without their frontline strike bowler for the majority of England's current tour.

However, the 32-year-old will return for the World T20 in India next month providing he can prove his fitness.

"We have a lot of experience in this group with 10 of the players having played in the last World Twenty20 in 2014, also on the sub-continent," said Cricket South Africa selection convener, Linda Zondi.

"The inclusion of Aaron [Phangiso] means that we have all our spin bowling options covered with he, Imran Tahir and JP Duminy offering the different varieties. Left-arm spin bowlers tend to play big roles under Indian conditions.

"Dale's return is very good news. He brings tremendous experience and leadership to the team, not to mention his skills as the outstanding fast bowler of his generation."

Steyn's return is a huge boost for captain Faf du Plessis, who also has emerging star Kagiso Rabada in the squad despite only playing eight previous T20 matches.

There is no place for Morne Morkel, though, who has not featured for the national team in the shortest form of the game since August 2015, while his brother Albie is also left out.

The 15-man squad will also do duty in the upcoming T20 series to be played against England and Australia during the course of the next four weeks.

South Africa - who have won six of their last seven completed T20 matches - begin their campaign on March 18 against England in Mumbai, the first of four matches in the Super 10 phase of the tournament.


South Africa World T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, David Wiese.