Dawson the surprise pick in England's World T20 squad


Liam Dawson has earned a shock call-up to England's squad for the World Twenty20 in India, which begins next month.

The uncapped spin-bowling all-rounder, 25, impressed for England Lions in a recent series against Pakistan A and has been preferred to Chris Woakes, with England wanting a third slow-bowling option to accompany Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali.

National selector James Whitaker said: "Liam Dawson has been selected after consistently strong performances for the Lions recently against Pakistan A.

"As a left-arm spinning all-rounder he will be a very useful addition, particularly in sub-continent conditions."

Steven Finn was ruled out of England's limited-overs series against South Africa due to a side strain, but is considered fit enough to make a 15-man party led by Eoin Morgan.

Former T20 skipper Stuart Broad has again been overlooked for action in the shortest format, however, while Kevin Pietersen is a predictable absentee after Morgan this week rejected the notion of the exiled batsman being recalled.

In announcing its squad, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) also confirmed Paul Collingwood - captain of England's World T20-winning squad in 2010 - and Mahela Jayawardene would rejoin the coaching team, the latter for the first 10 days of the tournament alone.

Director of England Cricket Andrew Strauss added: "Mahela and Paul proved very popular additions to the coaching team when they spent time with England in the UAE earlier this winter and I'm delighted that they are both able to help our T20 side.

"Their international experience, previous success at World T20 tournaments and, particularly in Mahela's case, knowledge of conditions make them ideal resources to tap into and I have no doubt the players will gain a huge amount from having them around the dressing room."

England, who won each of the five T20 matches they played in 2015, will face South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and a qualifier in the Super 10 phase of the tournament.


England World T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.