Care and Marler earn England starts, Robshaw named at six


Danny Care and Joe Marler have been named in Eddie Jones' first England team to face Scotland in the Six Nations on Saturday, while former captain Chris Robshaw will start at blindside flanker.

Jones, who succeeded Stuart Lancaster as head coach following England's dismal Rugby World Cup campaign, revealed his starting XV on Thursday - with Courtney Lawes fit enough to be named among the replacements.

Robshaw shifts from seven to six and accompanies James Haskell and Billy Vunipola in the back row. The latter is named as one of three vice-captains to Dylan Hartley along with Owen Farrell - who starts outside George Ford at 12 - and Mike Brown.

Scrum-half Care - whose only international start in 2015 came in the World Cup dead rubber against Uruguay - has been preferred to Ben Youngs, while another Harlequins player, Marler, joins new skipper Hartley and Dan Cole in the front row.

England's bench for the Murrayfield clash features three uncapped players in Northampton Saints prop Paul Hill, Quins flanker Jack Clifford and Bath back Ollie Devoto.

"There were some tight calls on selection, but we have picked a match-day squad with a blend of experience and youth," said Jones.

"The boys have worked hard since coming into camp to understand how I want the team to play going forward. We have prepared well and I am pleased with the progress the group has made in the short time we've had together.

"We are indebted to the work Stuart Lancaster has done over the last four years. I have inherited a talented and highly motivated group of players.

"We are confident we can go to Edinburgh and win, but we're in no doubt it will be a huge challenge. Playing at Murrayfield in front of a passionate Scottish crowd will be a real test for this team, but one I know we can rise to."


England: Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Danny Care; Joe Marler, Dylan Hartley (captain), Dan Cole, Joe Launchbury, George Kruis, Chris Robshaw, James Haskell, Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: Jamie George, Mako Vunipola, Paul Hill, Courtney Lawes, Jack Clifford, Ben Youngs, Alex Goode, Ollie Devoto.