Warner awarded Allan Border Medal


David Warner expressed his surprise and delight after beating Steve Smith to the 2016 Allan Border Medal.

Australia vice-captain Warner picked up two awards at a ceremony in Melbourne on Wednesday, the opener also named Australia's Test player of the year.

After receiving 240 votes to Smith's 219 in the count for the night's main prize, Warner said he had expected the Test and ODI skipper to retain the honour.

"My heart is racing. I honestly thought Smudge [Smith] had a terrific year and he would have taken this out," said Warner.

Smith outscored Warner across all formats over the 12-month voting period. However, the former was second in voting for the Allan Border Medal and Test player of the year, with fast bowler Mitchell Starc third in both categories.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell pipped Starc to the ODI player of the year gong, while Adam Voges was named domestic player of the year and Alex Ross took the Bradman young cricketer of the year prize.

Ellyse Perry ended Meg Lanning's reign as the women's international player of the year, scooping the Belinda Clark Award.