Aled Davies included in Wales Six Nations squad


Scarlets scrum-half Aled Davies is the only uncapped player in a 37-man Wales squad for the Six Nations, while Tom James and Josh Turnbull have been recalled.

Davies, 23, has been handed a chance to impress in the continued absence of Rhys Webb, who is still to regain full fitness after suffering a serious foot injury prior to the Rugby World Cup.

Thirty-one players who featured at last year's World Cup are again called upon, with Cardiff Blues duo James and Turnbull back in the frame after impressing at club level.

Dan Biggar, who limped out of the Ospreys' Champions Cup victory over Clermont Auvergne on Friday, is included, along with fellow fly-half Rhys Priestland, who has reversed a decision to take time away from the international game.

Explaining his decision to select an expanded squad, head coach Warren Gatland told the official YouTube channel of the Welsh Rugby Union (WRU): "A number of players are a week or two away - one or two may miss the first couple of games, but they're up and running and they're able to take a part in training, so we've involved them.

"We want to assess how they are and then potentially release some of them back to the regions to get some game time before we consider them.

"I suppose one of the omissions at the moment is Rhys Webb. He's been on a very prescribed programme and over the next couple of weeks he's got a week's downtime where he's not to take any active part in training - and then he probably needs a couple of games under his belt.

"So we want to assess how he goes and there's potential he could be called back later in the Six Nations.

"Aled [Davies] is someone who has been on the radar the last couple of years and his selection is reward for his form."

Jonathan Davies returns after missing the World Cup through injury, but Leigh Halfpenny and Scott Williams remain sidelined and there is no place for James Hook.

Wales kick off the Six Nations with a visit to defending champions Ireland on February 7.


Wales Six Nations squad:

Forwards: Rob Evans, Paul James, Gethin Jenkins, Tomas Francis, Aaron Jarvis, Samson Lee, Scott Baldwin, Kristian Dacey, Ken Owens, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Bradley Davies, Dominic Day, Alun Wyn Jones, Josh Turnbull, Taulupe Faletau, James King, Dan Lydiate, Ross Moriarty, Justin Tipuric, Sam Warburton (captain).
Backs: Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Lloyd Williams, Dan Biggar, Rhys Priestland, Cory Allen, Jonathan Davies, Tyler Morgan, Jamie Roberts, Hallam Amos, Alex Cuthbert, Tom James, George North, Gareth Anscombe, Matthew Morgan, Liam Williams.