Lyon, Warner return for Australia


Nathan Lyon will return to Australia's one-day side for the remaining two matches with India after impressing during the Big Bash with Sydney Sixers.

Lyon has not featured in 50-over cricket since October 2014 but has been drafted into Australia's squad in place of Joel Paris for the games in Canberra and Sydney.

The off-spinner played four matches in the Big Bash and although the Sixers finished bottom of the table, he took seven wickets at 15.85 - including 5-23 against Hobart Hurricanes.

David Warner is also back for Steve Smith's side after missing the second and third matches due to the birth of his second child.

The explosive opener will replace Usman Khawaja in Australia's squad, as the hosts look to complete a series whitewash over a beleaguered India side.

Lyon will also get the chance to earn his first international T20 cap after being named in the 17-man squad for the three matches that follow the ODI series.

He is joined in the T20 squad by Shaun Tait, Chris Lynn and the uncapped Andrew Tye after their impressive displays in the Big Bash.

However, there is no room for George Bailey and Mitchell Marsh as Australia look at all their options ahead of the World T20.

"Sadly we could not find places for George Bailey and Mitchell Marsh in the Twenty20 International squad but for both of them, and for others who have missed out on places in that line-up, the door is certainly not closed for selection for the ICC World Twenty20," said chairman of selectors  Rod Marsh. 

"We know what both those players are capable of, and both have significant experience of playing Twenty20 cricket in India where the ICC World Twenty20 takes place,  but we want them to continue to press their cases for inclusion while we take this opportunity to look at other contenders."


Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Scott Boland, Cameron Boyce, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.