Proteas stick with same 16 for remaining Tests


South Africa have named an unchanged squad for their remaining Tests with England, with a vast number of seam-bowling options retained.

Premier strike bowler Dale Steyn and Kyle Abbott were each forced to miss the second Test at Newlands through injury, resulting in caps for Chris Morris and Kagiso Rabada as well as a squad call-up for Hardus Viljoen.

Steyn and Abbott are in contention to return for the third Test, which starts in Johannesburg on Thursday, but the Proteas' selection panel have opted to keep Morris, Rabada and Viljoen in a 16-man party.

After losing at Kingsmead and seeing England rack up a mammoth total of 629-6 in Cape Town, South Africa responded strongly to draw the second Test - even threatening an unlikely victory on the final day - and remain 1-0 down in the four-match series.

"We were highly encouraged by the performance put up by the Proteas at PPC Newlands," said Cricket South Africa selection convener Linda Zondi.

"The very fact that they were nearly able to force a win after conceding 600 runs on the first innings speaks volumes for the character of this group of players.

"We feel we have all our bases covered and also the options that will enable the team to exploit whatever conditions they encounter at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium and at SuperSport Park [Centurion]."

AB de Villiers will captain South Africa in the third and fourth Tests, following Hashim Amla's post-match resignation in Cape Town.

The Proteas have also named a 14-man ODI squad to face England, with the dropping of left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso the only change from their last 50-over series in India.


South Africa squad for third and fourth Tests: AB de Villiers (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl, Hardus Viljoen.

South Africa ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.