Lynn stars as Heat defeat Thunder for first BBL win


A brilliant display from Chris Lynn saw the Brisbane Heat earn their first win of the Big Bash League season with a six-wicket victory over the Sydney Thunder at the Gabba.

Lynn was on fire as the Heat's four-game losing streak came to an end, clearing the ropes on 12 occasions - six of which were maximums - as he surpassed 50 for the third-straight match.

The Heat were set a difficult target of 186-5 by the Thunder, whose performance relied heavily on the showing of veteran pair Shane Watson and Mike Hussey.

After a sluggish start with Josh Lalor (1-33) dismissing Jacques Kallis (16) before Aiden Blizzard (14) was stumped off Samuel Badree to leave the Thunder 36-2 in the sixth over, Watson took the innings by the scruff of the neck and hit five maximums to power the Thunder forward.

While his 46 off 31 balls was explosive, Hussey was more patient to reach 56 - surviving a narrow escape after being dropped near the boundary by Jason Flores midway through his knock.

The Heat set about the chase in impressive fashion with opening pair Lendl Simmons (34) and JJ Peirson (40) combining for a stand of 72.

Lynn continued the explosive surge towards the target, repeatedly getting the better of Gurinder Sandhu (0-55), including four successive boundaries - three of which were sixes - during the 15th over to put the Heat within reach of the target.

The 25-year-old's spell came to an end in the closing stages when he was caught off Andre Russell (2-28) at long on, exiting with just five runs needed for the win.

Ben Cutting (22 not out) picked up a single to leave the Heat requiring four in the final over to win, and, after a pair of singles, he drove a four beyond the ropes to earn his side a maiden victory this season.