Scorchers off the mark with big win


Defending Big Bash League champions Perth Scorchers picked up their first win of the 2015-16 competition as they thrashed Brisbane Heat by nine wickets on Boxing Day.

After a disciplined bowling display from the Scorchers - with Andrew Tye (3-23) the pick of the hosts' attack - their batsmen quickly went about scoring the 118 runs they needed.

The Heat were immediately under pressure as they lost opener Lendl Simmons (0) to the second ball of the innings, and had it not been for Chris Lynn their total could have been embarrassing.

Lynn ploughed a lonely furrow as his team-mates struggled around him, with only opener Jimmy Peirson (10) joining him with a double-digit score as the visitors posted just 117-7 off their 20 overs.

Captain Lynn batted for almost the entirety of the Heat's innings as he made an unbeaten 75 off just 58 deliveries, including four sixes - three of which were dispatched to the mid-wicket boundary.

His team-mates were unable to follow their skipper's lead, though, as Tye, David Willey (1-15) and Jason Behrendorff (2-32) gave them little to work with.

Marcus Harris (36) and Michael Klinger (53 not out) gave the Scorchers a superb start to their run chase with an opening stand of 48, Harris particularly brutal towards Mark Steketee (0-21) as he scored 17 runs off him in the fourth over.

Even the wicket of Harris - caught by Lynn at mid-off - could not slow the Scorchers down as Ashton Agar joined Klinger at the crease.

Agar hit a patient 24 off 27 balls in their 70-run partnership, while Klinger continued his onslaught - going past 50 with a huge six over long on - to seal a comfortable win for the champions.