Stokes and Finn earn limited-overs returns


Ben Stokes and Steven Finn have been named in England's one-day international and Twenty20 squads for the limited-overs meetings with South Africa, beginning in February.

All-rounder Stokes and quick bowler Finn are the only two players in the two 15-man squads not to have been involved in last month's ODI and T20 series triumphs over Pakistan.

England's Test side are in South Africa, with the first meeting of that four-match series to begin on Boxing Day. The players not included in that squad, but named in the ODI selection, will arrive on January 23 for the 50-over series.

National selector James Whitaker said: "The limited-overs cricket played by this group of players in the last six months has been very encouraging, but we are all aware that there is still plenty of work to do.

"This ODI series against South Africa will be another important opportunity for these players to keep learning and developing their skills.

"With an ICC World T20 later this winter the T20 matches will be a crucial part of our preparations. On behalf of the selectors I would like to wish [captain] Eoin [Morgan] and [head coach] Trevor [Bayliss] all the very best."

ODI squad: Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes 

T20 squad: Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, James Vince