Formula One: The 2015 season in numbers


With the dust having settled following the 2015 Formula One season, we take a look at some of the year's key statistics with the help of Opta. 


3 - Only four drivers have won more drivers' crowns than Lewis Hamilton's current total - Michael Schumacher (7), Juan Manuel Fangio (5), Alain Prost (4) and Sebastian Vettel (4).

- Hamilton, Nico Rosberg and Vettel became the most repeated podium in F1 history.

12 - Mercedes surpassed their record for one-two finishes in a single season, the best for a team in F1 history.

15 - Mercedes now hold the record for having both their drivers start from the front row of the grid on the most occasions in a single season.

25.042 seconds - Hamilton's winning margin over Ferrari's Vettel in Italy was the biggest of the season.

14 - Only Stirling Moss (16) has more Grand Prix wins than Rosberg without being F1 world champion.

13 -  Toro Rosso's Carlos Sainz Jr equalled Vettel as the driver to have gained the most positions in a single race this season, the Spaniard in the United States and the German in Canada.

6 - Max Verstappen surpassed Vettel's 2008 Toro Rosso record of securing points in five consecutive races.

5th - Force India achieved their best finish in the constructors' standings.

9 - Lotus' Pastor Maldonado ended the season as the driver with the most retirements.

51 - Fernando Alonso has now gone 51 races without a win, while McLaren have not tasted victory in 57 - their worst runs respectively.