Arrieta, Keuchel take Cy Young Awards


Jake Arrieta held off Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw to win the 2015 National League (NL) Cy Young Award.

After having one of the best second halves of any pitcher in recent memory, Chicago Cubs ace Arrieta took the award, voted on by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Arrieta, who finished the season 22-6 with a 1.77 ERA, allowed just four earned runs in his last 88.1 innings during the regular season.

He finished with 17 of 30 first-place votes and 169 overall points in what was a close race with Los Angeles Dodgers team-mates Greinke and Kershaw.

"My buddy just popped a bottle of champagne on me, and it might have been his first time because he didn't do a very good job," Arrieta joked on MLB Network.

"I'm a little relieved to know how it all played out."

The Cubs ended the season with the NL Rookie of the Year (Kris Bryant), NL Manager of the Year (Joe Maddon) and now the Cy Young award winner.

Greinke finished second with 147 total points, and Kershaw came in third with 101.

After a dominant year on the mound, Houston Astros starter Dallas Keuchel was voted the American League (AL) Cy Young Award winner.

The 27-year-old ranked first in a bevy of pitching categories in the AL, including wins and innings.

"It is something I definitely never expected,"  Keuchel told MLB Network after the selection was announced.

"Just playing the game was good enough for me and to be in the same category as Sonny [Gray] and David [Price] was special."

Keuchel received 22 first-place votes (186 points), becoming the third Houston player to win the Cy Young, joining Roger Clemens (2004) and Mike Scott (1986).

David Price finished second with 21 second-place votes (143 points) after going 18-5 with a 2.45 ERA with the Detroit Tigers and Toronto Blue Jays.

It is the second runner-up for Price, who won the award in 2012 and finished second in 2010.

A's starter Sonny Gray finished third with 82 total points, followed by Chicago White Sox ace Chris Sale (30 points) and the Tampa Bay Rays' Chris Archer (29 points).