Jayasundera earns maiden Test call-up


The uncapped Udara Jayasundera has been called into Sri Lanka's Test squad for their tour of New Zealand.

Jayasundera - a 24-year-old batsman averaging 43 in first-class cricket - impressed against New Zealand A last month and was named in a 15-man party on Tuesday, along with Kithuruwan Vithanage.

There was no place in the Test squad for Kaushal Silva or Lahiru Thirimanne, although the latter remains vice-captain to Angelo Mathews in the one-day international format.

Chief selector Kapila Wijegunawardene is quoted by ESPNCricinfo as saying: "Udara Jayasundera has been among the runs and has been batting very well. We're just following our policy of picking players on form and giving youngsters who show potential the opportunity, whenever the situation warrants.

"Over the last few games Kaushal was not giving us the expected performances. We felt that Kusal Mendis or Udara Jayasundera would be a better option. Of course we would like Kaushal to find his form and return to the side."

Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay is part of Sri Lanka's Test, ODI and Twenty20 squads, having only previously featured in the latter format, with Tharindu Kaushal overlooked.

There is a T20 recall, meanwhile, for Isuru Udana, a pace bowler not seen in international cricket since a home ODI series with India in 2012.

Sri Lanka will play two Tests, five ODIs and two T20s in New Zealand between December 10 and January 10.


Test squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Rangana Herath, Udara Jayasundara, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Kusal Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Milinda Siriwardana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Kithuruwan Vithanage.

ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Sachithra Senanayake, Milinda Siriwardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeffrey Vandersay.

T20 squad: Lasith Malinga (captain), Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Milinda Siriwardana, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Kithuruwan Vithanage.