IAAF confirms Russia inspection team line-up


The IAAF has announced the final four members of an inspection team formed to verify reforms made by Russia to end its suspension from competition.

Russia was suspended last week over allegations of state-sponsored doping, with an independent commission established by the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) having called for the All-Russia Athletic Federation (ARAF) to be banned.

As a result of the sanction, Russian athletes will not be able to compete at the 2016 Olympic Games and IAAF president Sebastian Coe said that would only change if certain criteria were met.

It had already been confirmed Norwegian anti-doping expert Rune Andersen will chair the inspection team and an IAAF statement released on Tuesday read: "The IAAF Inspection Team, which will verify the reforms programme in Russia to enable the All-Russian Athletics Federation (ARAF) to gain reacceptance for IAAF membership, has been announced.

"Joining Andersen on the team are four IAAF Council Members: Abby Hoffman (Canada), Anna Riccardi (Italy), Frank Fredericks (Namibia) and Geoff Gardner (Norfolk Island)."

Coe said: "After consultation with WADA, we will set the verification criteria. The five-person inspection team, led by a renowned anti-doping expert Rune Andersen, has an extraordinary amount of experience to ensure ARAF meets the criteria and is eligible to once again enter athletes into international competition."