Bryant, Correa named Rookies of the Year


After a stellar first year, Chicago Cubs star Kris Bryant was voted the National League (NL) Rookie of the Year on Monday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. 

Bryant finished his rookie campaign with a batting average of .275 with 26 home runs, 99 RBIs, 13 stolen bases and 87 runs scored as the Cubs reached 97 wins and a birth in the play-offs.

Among NL rookies, Bryant was first in home runs (tied with the Los Angeles Dodgers' Joc Pederson), runs and RBIs.

Bryant received all 30 first-place votes (150 points) to become the sixth Cub to win Rookie of the Year, joining Billy Williams (1961), Ken Hubbs (1962), Jerome Walton (1989), Kerry Wood (1998) and Geovany Soto (2008). 

San Francisco Giants third baseman Matt Duffy finished second with 22 second-place votes and 70 points, followed by Pittsburgh Pirates infielder Kang Jung-ho with 28 total points.

Despite playing in fewer than 100 games this season for the contending Houston Astros, shortstop Carlos Correa was voted the American League (AL) Rookie of the Year.

Correa batted with a .279 average with 22 homers, 68 RBIs, 14 stolen bases and 52 runs scored for Houston, who reached the post-season after winning 86 regular-season games. 

Correa received 17 of 30 first-place votes (124 points) to become the second Astros player to win rookie honours, joining Jeff Bagwell (1991). 

Cleveland Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor finished second with 13 first-place votes and 109 points.

Minnesota Twins slugger Miguel Sano finished third with 20 points.