Peerages for PM’s brother, Tory grandees and Brexit backers

The Prime Minister has nominated his brother Jo Johnson, his chief strategic adviser Sir Edward Lister and several Tory grandees for peerages, while a suite of Brexiteers are also set for the Lords.

Philip May, husband of Theresa May, Boris Johnson's predecessor in Downing Street, is also destined for a knighthood, a list of nominations published on Friday showed.

Ex-England cricket player and Brexit supporter Sir Ian Botham, newspaper owner Evgeny Lebedev and former leader of the Scottish Conservatives Ruth Davidson will also head to the House of Lords.

Who's heading for the House of Lords?
See Gallery
Who's heading for the House of Lords?
Minster of State for the Department of Transport Jo Johnson speaking to the media at Nottingham Railway Station after a fire broke out in a block of toilets at the station this morning.
Sir Edward Lister, Boris Johnson's chief of staff, arrives in Downing Street in London.
British Prime Minister Theresa May and her husband Philip May speaks to media outside Number 10 of Downing Street in London. (Photo by Yiannis Alexopoulos / SOPA Images/Sipa USA)
File photo dated 03/05/2016 of former Mayor of London, Boris Johnson (left) talking to Sir Ian Botham, prior to a knock-about during a visit to Chester Le Street Cricket Club in County Durham, as part of his tour on the Vote Leave campaign bus. The former England cricketer is among 30 new peers to be announced later this month, according to The Times.
Evgeny Lebedev arrives for the Evening Standard Theatre Awards at a central London venue, Sunday, Nov. 20, 2011. (AP Photo/Jonathan Short)
Former Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson MSP in Edinburgh, after it was confirmed Scottish Conservative MP Douglas Ross will stand for leadership of the Scottish Conservatives following the sudden resignation of Jackson Carlaw after less than six months in the post.
Kate Hoey MP speaking on stage at the March to Leave protest in Parliament Square, Westminster, London
File photo dated 22/09/2019 of former Labour MP Ian Austin who is among 30 new peers to be announced later this month, according to The Times.
File photo dated 29/11/2019 of Labour MP, Gisela Stuart who is among 30 new peers to be announced later this month, according to The Times.
Conservative MP Ken Clarke speaks during Prime Minister's Questions in the House of Commons, London.
Former chancellor Philip Hammond in Whitehall, Westminster, London as Prime Minister Boris Johnson will temporarily close down the Commons from the second week of September until October 14 when there will be a Queen's Speech to open a new session of Parliament.

The 36-strong list includes numerous former MPs who rebelled against the Labour position to back Brexit, including Kate Hoey, Ian Austin, and Gisela Stuart.

Notable absentees from the list include the last Commons speaker John Bercow and Labour's former deputy leader Tom Watson.

Former chancellors Ken Clarke and Philip Hammond
Former chancellors Ken Clarke and Philip Hammond (PA)

But Mr Johnson did pick Conservative former chancellors Ken Clarke and Philip Hammond for peerages, after he stripped them from the Tory whip after they defied him over Brexit.

He also selected his own brother Jo, who dealt his older sibling a major blow in resigning from his Cabinet citing "the national interest".

Sir Edward, a long-term ally of the Prime Minister having supported him as London mayor, also made Mr Johnson's list for peerages.

Read Full Story Click here to comment