MPs vote against Withdrawal Agreement for a third time

Prime Minister Theresa May has lost the battle to get her Brexit Withdrawal Agreement backed by the Commons on the day that was scheduled to see Britain quit the EU.

Mrs May split the legally-binding treaty segment of her Brexit deal from the declaration on future relations with the EU in order to ensure MPs could vote on it on Friday.

But the Commons rejected her plan by 344 votes to 286, a majority against of 58.

There were 277 Tories who voted for the Withdrawal Agreement motion along with five Labour MPs and four Independents.

The group of MPs voting against the motion consisted of 34 Conservative MPs, 234 Labour, 34 SNP, 11 Liberal Democrats, 10 DUP, four Plaid Cymru, Green Party MP Caroline Lucas and 16 Independents.

Read Full Story