Candidates revealed in race for Ukip leadership

Eleven applicants vying to be Ukip's new leader have been announced.

Deputy leader Peter Whittle, Scottish leader David Coburn, MEP Jane Collins and London Assembly member David Kurten are among hopeful candidates in the leadership race.

Sharia Watch director Ann Marie Waters, former Ukip councillor Ben Walker, former Kent police and crime commissioner candidate Henry Bolton and direct democracy activist John Rees-Evans, who came third in the last contest, are also fighting for the top job.

Other applicants include Aidan Powlesland, the party's South Suffolk candidate in the General Election, as well as David Allen and Marion Mason.

Former Ukip leader Nigel Farage ruled himself out of the contest, while previous leadership candidate Bill Etheridge withdrew last month, warning that candidates such as Ms Waters and Mr Whittle would take the party to a "dark place" because of their obsession with Islam.

The party is now verifying the information of applicants and "completing vetting checks" ahead of a meeting of Ukip's National Executive Committee on August 11.

The NEC will approve the final list of candidates who will appear on the ballot paper. 

Paul Nuttall resigned as leader after Ukip failed to win any seats at the General Election.

This triggered the third Ukip leadership race in a year, with former leader Diane James having quit in October, just 18 days after taking the job.

She won the contest to replace Mr Farage, who stepped down as Ukip leader after the EU referendum.

Ballot papers will be issued on September 1 and the new leader will be announced at Ukip's conference in Torquay on September 29.

Read Full Story