Six left-leaning candidates elected on to Labour's National Executive Committee


A slate of left-leaning candidates has been elected on to Labour's National Executive Committee (NEC) - but comedian Eddie Izzard failed to secure a seat.

Six spaces on the NEC for representatives from constituency Labour parties have been filled, and all six winners are deemed to be on the left in what many will see as a boost for leader Jeremy Corbyn.

Those elected are Ann Black, Christine Shawcroft, Claudia Webbe, Darren Williams, Rhea Wolfson and Peter Willsman.

Izzard tweeted his disappointment and thanked all the people who voted for him as he pledged to "keep heading forwards".

Izzard finished eighth in the ballot with 70,993 votes.

Black received 100,999 votes, Shawcroft received 97,510 votes, Webbe received 92,377 votes, Williams received 87,003 votes, Wolfson received 85,687 votes and Willsman received 81,863 votes.

The NEC governs the Labour Party but its relationship with the leadership has been under strain in recent months.

It voted by a majority of 18 to 14 earlier this year for Corbyn to have an automatic place on the leadership ballot without needing to obtain the backing of 20% of Labour MPs and MEPs.

Meanwhile, the NEC's procedures committee has said it will appeal against a High Court ruling that said new members should have the right to vote in Labour's leadership contest between Corbyn and Owen Smith.

Responding to the election of six new members to the NEC, a spokesman for the Jeremy For Labour campaign said: "Our campaign would like to congratulate those new members to the Labour Party's NEC, and thank those former members who have served our party, and also thank those members who stood unsuccessfully.

"This result clearly shows that there is a desire for real and genuine change in our party under the continued leadership of Jeremy Corbyn, but we are not going to take anything for granted and we will be campaigning for every vote in the leadership contest."

The NEC consists of the Labour leader, deputy leader, frontbenchers, trade union representatives, constituency party representatives, councillors and members of the Parliamentary Labour Party.