Here are the 12 Labour shadow cabinet ministers who have left


Just when you believed things couldn't get any worse for Jeremy Corbyn, the total number of shadow cabinet ministers who have left the Labour party (so far) has now risen to 12.

Corbyn is now facing the biggest threat yet to his political leadership, plunging the Labour Party into turmoil. He has however said that he would not be stepping down, saying he will not "betray the trust" of those who elected him.

He added that we would look to "reshape" the shadow cabinet over the next 24 hours and warned: "Those who want to change Labour's leadership will have to stand in a democratic election, in which I will be a candidate."

Here is a list of those shadow ministers and why they went.

1. Hilary Benn (Shadow foreign secretary)

Hilary Benn
(Daniel Leal-Olivas/PA)

Jeremy Corbyn sacked Hilary Benn after he raised concerns about his leadership.

Leeds Central MP Benn said there was "widespread" worry among Labour MPs and in the shadow cabinet over Corbyn's ability to win a snap election in the wake of David Cameron's resignation.

2. Heidi Alexander (Shadow health secretary)

Heidi Alexander
(Gareth Fuller/PA)

She became the first of Corbyn's front bench to hand her resignation in.

In her resignation letter, she said it was "with a heavy heart" that she decided to stand down but she does not think Corbyn can lead Labour during Brexit negotiations.

3. Ian Murray (Shadow Scottish secretary)

Ian Murray
(Daniel Leal-Olivas/PA)

He was first elected to Westminster for Edinburgh South in 2010 having previously been a councillor. He has been critical of some of the language used by Corbyn's shadow chancellor and close ally John McDonnell, who he has accused of "ramping up rhetoric" against some centrist Labour MPs.

He said there is a "grave risk" Scotland could go for independence and the UK could break up in the wake of the Brexit vote and he feels Corbyn does not have the skills to lead the party during this tumultuous time.

4. Lucy Powell (Shadow education secretary)

Lucy Powell
(Jonathan Brady/PA)

Powell has been the MP for Manchester Central since 2012. She was a key ally of Ed Miliband, helping to run his ill-fated general election campaign.

Resigning, she said the Labour Party faces an "existential threat" and warned that it has lost the support of many of its traditional voters.

5. Lilian Greenwood (Shadow transport secretary)

Lilian Greenwood
(Gareth Fuller/PA)

MP for Nottingham South since 2010, she was first promoted to the Labour front bench by Miliband and kept on by Corbyn.

She echoed the concerns of many of her former front bench colleagues that Brexit will cause economic hardship and be accompanied by growing intolerance.

6. Kerry McCarthy (Shadow environment secretary)

Kerry McCarthy
(Jonathan Brady/PA)

McCarthy was elected MP for Bristol East in 2005 having been selected as candidate in the first Labour all-women shortlist.

She has sparked several controversies on Twitter during her time as an MP. She apologised and received a police caution after revealing a sample of postal votes on Twitter during the run-up to the 2010 election.

7. Gloria De Piero (Shadow minister for young people)

Gloria De Piero
(Jonathan Brady/PA)

A former journalist who became the MP for Ashfield in 2010.

According to The Guardian, she told Corbyn in her resignation letter: "I do not believe you can deliver that victory at a general election, which may take place in a matter of months.

"I have been contacted by many of my members this weekend and it is clear that a good number of them share that view and have lost faith in your leadership."

8. Seema Malhotra (Shadow chief secretary to the Treasury)

Seema Malhotra
(Lauren Hurley/PA)

Malhotra was far closer to the Labour leader than the other rebels.

She was last seen with him on Saturday when she enthusiastically helped to introduce the Labour leader as he made his first public speech following the EU referendum vote.

9. Vernon Coaker (Shadow Northern Ireland secretary)

Vernon Coaker
(Liam McBurney/PA)

He was one of the most experienced politicians in Corbyn's shadow cabinet having been elected to the Nottinghamshire constituency of Gedling in 1997.

He said: "I believe it is now time for the party to unite behind a new leader to ensure our MPs can serve the whole of the electorate as that effective opposition. It is with deep regret that I am therefore tendering my resignation from the shadow cabinet."

10. Lord Falconer (Shadow justice secretary)

Lord Falconer
(Jonathan Brady/PA)

Falconer was one of the very few big beasts in Corbyn's shadow cabinet. The Labour peer and barrister served as lord chancellor and justice secretary under under his old friend and former flat mate Tony Blair.

He spent some years out of frontbench politics when Gordon Brown was leader, but was appointed shadow justice secretary in 2015 by then acting Labour Leader Harriet Harman and kept in the job when Corbyn was elected.

11. Karl Turner (Shadow attorney general)

Karl Turner
(John Stillwell/PA)

Turner has become the second MP to resign from the position over Corbyn's leadership within the space of six months.

He stepped up to replace Catherine McKinnell, who quit the job in January complaining of Labour's "increasingly negative path".

12. Chris Bryant (Shadow Commons leader)

Chris Bryant
(Jonathan Brady/PA)

He was one of just a handful of shadow cabinet members to straddle the eras of Miliband and Corbyn.

But since his perceived demotion from his shadow culture secretary post by Corbyn, there has been widespread speculation that he was unhappy.