Oscars academy appoints 'diverse' members to board after #OscarsSoWhite row


The body which nominates films for the Oscars has appointed nine new "diverse voices" to its board after a row about the lack of ethnic diversity in the awards.

African-American producer Reginald Hudlin, South Korean-born director Jennifer Yuh Nelson and El Norte director Gregory Nava have been selected to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences's 51-seat board of governors for a three-year term.

A further six members, including Mexican actor Gael Garcia Bernal and Dear White People producer Effie Brown, have been added to board committees across the Academy.

Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs said: "I'm proud of the steps we have taken to increase diversity.

"However, we know there is more to do as we move forward to make this a more inclusive organisation."

The move comes after criticism of the lack of nominees of colour in the top four categories which overshadowed this year's Oscars.

Spike Lee, Will Smith and his wife Jada Pinkett Smith boycotted the ceremony, while the hashtag #OscarsSoWhite began trending for a second year when nominations were announced.

African-American producer Stephanie Allain, cinematographer Amy Vincent, Fox Studios animation president Vanessa Morrison, producer Marcus Hu and Jungle Book animator Floyd Norman have also joined board committees.

Other shake-ups include limiting votes to members who have been active in the movie industry in the last 10 years or are a past Oscar winner or nominee, with reviews carried out every two years.

This year's ceremony was hosted by comedian Chris Rock, who skewered the Academy for their lack of black nominees.