EU scraps visa rules for Caribbean

UK Border AgencyTravellers from 16 Caribbean and Pacific countries, the United Arab Emirates, Peru and Colombia will be able to travel throughout the EU without visas, if EU politicians get their way.

The Permanent Representatives in Brussels yesterday agreed to add 19 countries to the EU visa-free list.

The EU Council will now enter into negotiations with the European Parliament, with a view to the final adoption of the decision early next year.

"Our today's agreement is a significant step towards the future visa-free travel between the European Union and the 19 third countries. The Presidency strongly believe in the benefits of the visa-free travels and is very glad to have achieved the agreement among the Member States," said ambassador Raimundas Karoblis, chair of the Permanent Representatives Committee.

The countries covered are:
  • Grenada
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • Palau
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Peru
  • Colombia

To benefit from the visa-free travels, each of the 19 countries will still have to conclude a bilateral Visa Waiver Agreement meaning EU citizens can also travel to any of these countries without needing a visa.