Kuenssberg, Maitlis and Burley among broadcasters’ election night hosts

Laura Kuenssberg and Clive Myrie will host the BBC’s election night coverage, while Krishnan Guru-Murthy and Emily Maitlis will lead the line-up at Channel 4 and Kay Burley and Sophy Ridge will anchor for Sky News.

The BBC announced on Tuesday that Sunday morning political show presenter Kuenssberg and Mastermind host Myrie will take over from previous election night anchor Huw Edwards, who resigned and left the BBC last month after allegations that he paid a young person for sexually explicit photos.

BBC political editor Chris Mason and newsreader Reeta Chakrabarti will also provide analysis after votes are cast on July 4.

BBC Radio 4’s Today programme host Nick Robinson and 5 Live presenter Rachel Burden will front the radio coverage alongside the broadcaster’s chief political correspondent Henry Zeffman.

Jeremy Vine will broadcast from Cardiff with his election swingometer, while Kirsty Wark will be in Glasgow and Andrea Catherwood in Belfast.

Fiona Bruce, Victoria Derbyshire, Naga Munchetty, Nick Watt and Alex Forsyth are among the other BBC faces who will be reporting from key locations around the country.

On Channel 4, former BBC Newsnight host Maitlis will lead coverage alongside the channel’s lead London presenter Guru-Murthy.

Maitlis, who left the BBC in 2022 and is known for her Newsnight interview with the Duke of York, co-hosts The News Agents podcast alongside Jon Sopel and Lewis Goodall.

She will be joined on the night by The Rest Is Politics podcast hosts Alastair Campbell and Rory Stewart, as well as some familiar faces from the reality TV show Gogglebox.

Broadcaster Cathy Newman will present from the Labour and Conservative campaign HQs while Channel 4 News political editor Gary Gibbon will deliver analysis.

At Sky News, chief presenter Burley will anchor their overnight results programme alongside political editor Beth Rigby, Sunday morning political show presenter Sir Trevor Phillips and data and economics editor Ed Conway.

The following morning, lead politics presenter Sophy Ridge will be live from Westminster to provide updates as the next government is announced.

She will be joined by deputy political editor Sam Coates and Sky News contributor Adam Boulton on the day.

ITV are yet to announce their line-up for the night but Tom Bradby is expected to lead the coverage after anchoring for the broadcaster at the last election in 2019.