Vanessa Redgrave to receive Gielgud Award after six decades on the stage

Theatre veteran Vanessa Redgrave will be honoured with the prestigious Gielgud Award.

The actress, 79, is to join the ranks of previous recipients including Sir Ian McKellen, Sir Derek Jacobi, Dame Judi Dench, Sir Kenneth Branagh and her own sister, Lynn Redgrave.

Vanessa Redgrave
Vanessa Redgrave (Yui Mok/PA)

Having starred in more than 35 productions in London's West End and on Broadway in a career spanning six decades, Vanessa will receive the Gielgud Award for excellence in the dramatic arts at the UK Theatre Awards on October 9.

She took to the stage earlier this year as Queen Margaret in the Almeida Theatre's production of Richard III alongside Ralph Fiennes.

The Oscar-winner has also appeared in more than 80 films and earned Olivier, Emmy, Tony, Bafta and Golden Globe awards.

Vanessa Redgrave in 1966
Vanessa Redgrave in 1966 (AP)

Sir Ian, who received the inaugural Gielgud trophy 20 years ago, will also be recognised at the ceremony at London's Guildhall, hosted by Lesley Manville and featuring performances from Clare Burt and composer Richard Taylor.

He will receive the award for outstanding contribution to British theatre.

Sir Ian McKellen
Sir Ian McKellen (Ian West/PA)

Established in honour of the English actor Sir John Gielgud, the Gielgud Award has been given sporadically since 1996.

Read Full Story Click here to comment