Prince backing singer dedicates Jazz FM Awards performance to star


A former member of Prince's backing band The New Power Generation has paid tribute to him with a performance at this year's Jazz FM Awards.

Soul singer Liv Warfield, who credits the Purple Rain singer as being her mentor, dedicated a performance of her song BlackBird to the superstar musician at the annual event held at London's Bloomsbury Ballroom.

Liv Warfield  at the Jazz FM Awards (Jazz FM)
Liv Warfield at the Jazz FM Awards (Jazz FM)

Lyrics to the song, which refer to the Beatles hit also called Blackbird, include: "Paul McCartney got it wrong / I ain't never want no song / I ain't special; I ain't strong / I'm just a Black ... bird".

The awards, now in their third year, honour the highest achievers from the world of jazz, blues and soul.

The music world is still mourning Prince's shock death at the age of 57 last week, with the latest reports suggesting he had stayed awake for 154 hours before he died.

International superstar Quincy Jones was honoured with The PPL Lifetime Achievement Award and thanked Jazz FM via a video message.

He said: "What can I say Jazz FM? I'm so moved... To be so young and receive an award like this, it's astounding. I'm only 83 man! It's with great honour and pride that I'd like to say thank you and show you my gratitude and my respect and love, I really appreciate it, thank you. It always feels good man!"

American singer Gregory Porter picked up the Impact Award, which is awarded to a jazz artist who has made a lasting impression on the music scene globally.

Here is the full list of winners:

Instrumentalist of the Year
Mark Lockheart

Soul Artist of the Year
Jill Scott

Breakthrough Act of the Year
Binker & Moses

Blues Artist of the Year
Gary Clark Jr.

Vocalist of the Year
Lauren Kinsella

International Artist Of The Year
Kamasi Washington

Album Of The Year
Hiatus Kaiyote

UK Jazz Act of the Year
Binker & Moses

Digital Initiative of the Year
Jacob Collier

Jazz Innovation of the Year
Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah

Live Experience of the Year - Public Vote
Ice-T and Ron McCurdy - The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican

Impact Award
Gregory Porter

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award
Quincy Jones