Great Britain shooting teams confirmed for rearranged Olympics and Paralympics

World number one Seonaid McIntosh is set to lead a four-strong Great Britain shooting team into the rearranged Tokyo Olympics this summer.

Despite ongoing uncertainty over the event due to the coronavirus pandemic, the British Olympic Association is pressing ahead with confirming its athletes for the Games.

In addition, the British Paralympic Association has named its first set of athletes in the form of a six-strong shooting contingent.

2018 Commonwealth Games – Day Nine
2018 Commonwealth Games – Day Nine

Team GB Chef de Mission Mark England said: “While we continue to navigate the unique challenges facing us as result of the pandemic, starting 2021 with this positive announcement is a strong illustration of how committed we are to the Tokyo Olympic Games.”

The 24-year-old McIntosh, whose mother and sister are both former Commonwealth Games medallists, currently tops the rankings in the 3×50 air rifle discipline.

And she admitted that despite being far from ideal, the delay of her Olympic debut had given her valuable time to cope with the pressure of expectation that will arrive in the Japanese capital.

McIntosh said: “I had a very successful year in 2019 and when 2020 rolled around suddenly it was Olympic year and I was getting really nervous about the prospect.

“In some ways this has helped me because the nervousness has dissipated and I feel a lot better, although I guess it will build up again in the next few months.

“I am super-excited about going to Tokyo and I guess if it didn’t happen it would be a bit of a bummer, but we have to remember that the safety of people is far more important than sport.”

BREAKING: The first ParalympicsGB athletes selected for @Tokyo2020 are…

— ParalympicsGB (@ParalympicsGB) January 13, 2021

Also making their Olympic debuts will be another world champion, Matt Coward-Holley in Olympic trap, plus Aaron Heading and Kirsty Hegarty who compete in the same discipline.

The six-strong Paralympic team compromises Ryan Cockbill, Matt Skelhon, Issy Bailey, James Bevis, Tim Jeffery and Lorraine Lambert.