John Boyega, Marcus Rashford and Michaela Coel among GQ winners


Star Wars actor John Boyega, actress Michaela Coel and England footballer Marcus Rashford are among the people who have been honoured at this year’s GQ Men Of The Year awards.

Boyega was named winner of the icon award, with Chewing Gum star Coel named the creative icon winner and Rashford awarded the campaigner honour at the virtual ceremony.

Manchester United star Rashford, 23, has won widespread praise and an MBE following his successful lobbying of the Government for the extension of free school meals.

Michaela Coel
Michaela Coel

GQ’s annual event, which celebrates men and women who have helped to shape the world’s cultural landscape over style, politics, entertainment and sport, was held online this year due to the coronavirus pandemic, hosted by Jack Whitehall.

Normal People star Paul Mescal was named the breakthrough actor winner with Captain Marvel actress Lashana Lynch named the breakthrough actress winner.

Lynch will next be seen playing Double-0 agent Nomi in Daniel Craig’s final outing as super-spy James Bond in the delayed No Time To Die.

The GQ awards also honoured Patrick Hutchinson, a personal trainer who made headlines after he was photographed in London during a Black Lives Matter protest this year, helping an injured counter-protestor to safety.

Mr Hutchinson was named the winner of the humanitarian award.

Lashana Lynch playing Nomi in the new Bond film No Time To Die
Lashana Lynch playing Nomi in the new Bond film No Time To Die

Captain Sir Tom Moore, who recently became GQ’s oldest cover star, was honoured with the inspiration gong.

The 100-year-old Second World War veteran has raised more than £32 million for the NHS by walking laps of his garden.

Author, artist and illustrator Charlie Mackesy, whose book The Boy, The Mole, The Fox And The Horse has been a best-seller, was named winner of the artist award.

Ozzy Osbourne
Ozzy Osbourne

Musicians Ozzy Osbourne and Shawn Mendes were presented with gongs too, with Osbourne given a lifetime achievement award while Mendes was named solo artist winner.

Black Sabbath frontman Osbourne revealed at the beginning of this year that he had been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease.

Good Morning Britain’s Piers Morgan was named the winner of the TV personality award, with designer Tommy Hilfiger honoured as the design legend winner.

Ahead of the ceremony, racing driver Lewis Hamilton was named game changer of the year.

The GQ Men Of The Year Awards, in association with Hugo Boss, were shown on British GQ’s YouTube channel.