Slovenia and Guadeloupe added to Scotland’s quarantine list

Slovenia and Guadeloupe have been added to the quarantine list for Scotland – while Singapore and Thailand are being removed, the Scottish Government has announced.

The changes come into effect at 4am on Saturday, meaning from then people entering Scotland from Slovenia and Guadeloupe must self-isolate for 14 days on arrival.

“Significant increases” in cases in the two areas have led to them being added to the quarantine list, the Scottish Government said.

Meanwhile, a trend of decreasing cases is behind the decision to exempt Singapore and Thailand from the quarantine requirements.

Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf said: “Managing the risk of importing cases from communities with high risks of transmission is vital in our efforts to suppress the spread of the virus in Scotland and imposing quarantine restrictions on those arriving in the UK is our first defence.

“We continue to closely monitor the situation in all parts of the world and base the decisions we make on the scientific evidence available.

“We are also in regular discussions with the other three governments in the UK. More details about what the quarantine requirements mean can be found on the Scottish Government website.”

He added: “Wherever somebody has travelled from – whether an exempt country or not – it remains a legal requirement to complete a Passenger Locator Form and provide it to Border Force officials. Failure to do so can also result in a fine since this, along with any failure to self-isolate where required, poses a significant risk to wider public health across Scotland.

“We are in the midst of a global pandemic and the situation in many countries can change suddenly. Therefore, people should think very hard before committing to non-essential travel abroad.”