Local NHS heroes to be honoured in Parliament

Local health heroes are to be honoured by NHS leaders on the eve of the health service's 70th anniversary celebrations.

MPs from around England were encouraged to nominate people or organisations in their constituencies who had made innovations or provided high quality care.

NHS England received hundreds of nominations for the NHS70 Parliamentary Awards, which will be taking place in the House of Commons on Wednesday July 4.

From more than 750 entries submitted, senior experts have chosen 10 outstanding nominations, which "exemplify the best of what the NHS and its partners do day in, day out", NHS England said.

The awards include highlighting excellence in cancer care, mental health care, urgent and emergency care and primary care - such as general practice.

Other gongs include a care and compassion award, a patient and public involvement award and a lifetime achievement honour.

The awards have been judged by health leaders including: Dr Neil Churchill, director of experience, participation and equalities at NHS England, Dave Prentis, general secretary of Unison, Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, chairwoman of the Royal College of GPs, Janet Davies, the chief executive and general secretary of the Royal College of Nursing and Dr Ruth May, executive director of Nursing at NHS Improvement.