Matt Neal takes 2011 BTCC crown

Alex Goy

After a long season with as many ups and downs then you'd care to mention, Honda's Matt Neal has taken the top spot in this year's MSN British Touring Car Championship.

The final races, held at Silverstone, saw Neal face off with arch-rival Jason Plato, who was valiantly trying to defend his title. However, a puncture in Race 1 saw TV's Plato out of the running, leaving Neal and team mate 'Flash' Gordon Shedden to battle it out for the title.