Remembering the Group B era of rallying

Martyn Collins


Group B rallying might have only lasted for four years in the 1980s and banned thereafter, but it was an unforgettable era and still continues to amaze and scare in equal measure.

From 1982 to 1986 manufacturers such as Audi, Ford, Lancia and Peugeot battled each other on the world's stages with now-legendary drivers including Walter Röhrl, Hannu Mikkola and Ari Vatanen.