Peugeot triumph at Spa-Francorchamps

Pole position on Saturday and more: after posting the best time in qualifying, Peugeot went on to win the second race of the 2010 Le Mans Series. At the Belgian circuit of Spa-Francorchamps, it was once again the number nine Peugeot 908 that blew away the opposition. After 139 laps and five pit stops, the trio of Sébastien Bourdais, Pedro Lamy and Simon Pagenaud claimed victory.

The final stage of the race could not have been more thrilling. The 7km stretch of tarmac in the Ardennes forest gradually dried out, which meant that the competitors could at last switch to slick tyres. Shortly before the finish line, there was excitement behind the victorious Peugeot as Stephane Sarrazin, who had been reducing the gap on Tom Kristensen in his Audi R15 lap by lap, eventually overtook the Dane.

With this passing manoeuvre right at the end, Sarrazin (co-drivers Franck Montagny and Nicolas Minassian) made it a one-two finish for Peugeot. Audi eventually had to settle for third and fifth.