VW confirms 2011 Dakar bid

David Hobbs

Volkswagen will be hoping for a third successive Dakar Rally victory after confirming that they will enter teams for 2011.

After first winning the event in 2009 with the diesel-powered Toureg, the German marque repeated that success last January when former World Rally Champion Carlos Sainz took a hard-earned win on the rough roads of South America.