Rio 2016: What happened with the rules? - Falcao fumes at Kenny gold


Jason Kenny delighted Team GB fans by winning a sixth career Olympic gold medal on Tuesday, but the controversy in the keirin final caught the ire of Monaco striker Radamel Falcao.

Kenny etched his name among the pantheon of British Olympic greats when he matched Chris Hoy's national record of six gold medals by sealing victory in contentious circumstances in the velodrome.

The race had to be restarted twice, and on the first instance Kenny was faced with the threat of disqualification for overtaking the derny bike before it left the track.

However, the 28-year-old was cleared of wrongdoing and, after a failed second attempt, Kenny finally took the win ahead of Matthijs Buchli of the Netherlands and Malaysian Azizulhasni Awang.

But Falcao, who is well known to fans in England having playing for Manchester United and Chelsea in the Premier League, hit out at the UCI and its president Brian Cookson for allowing Kenny to remain in the face.

Posting on Twitter, Falcao - whose Colombian compatriot Fabian Zapata finished outside the medal positions - wrote: "What happened with rules @UCI_cycling.

"Just in the track it doesn't matter. @BrianCooksonUCI. @BritishCycling #Gold? #Rio2016."

In a separate post, Falcao merely added: "Paper rule."