Green avoids suspension for Adams kick


Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green will not be suspended for kicking Steven Adams, but his wallet will be a little lighter.

The NBA opted to fine Green $25,000 for striking the Oklahoma City Thunder forward in the groin during game three of the Western Conference finals on Sunday.

Green was assessed a flagrant foul one on the play, which will be upgraded to a flagrant foul two as part of the punishment.

Under NBA rules, another flagrant foul one would result in an automatic one-game suspension for Green; another flagrant foul two would mean a two-game ban.

But he will not miss game four of the series, which is a big win for the Warriors as they look to avoid a dreaded 3-1 deficit.

Green denied that his hit was intentional, but said he would apologise to Adams at some point.

"I didn't intentionally kick him down there," Green said via The Undefeated on Monday.

"Whether he believes me or not, which I don't think he will and wouldn't in the moment, which is why I didn't say anything.

"I would definitely apologise and I look forward to apologising to him, if I see him."