What division would your club be in if the Football League split happened now?


The Football League has proposed a significant restructure that, if agreed, would see its three divisions of 24 clubs spread into four divisions of 20 in a staged process that is to conclude in 2019.

Graphic detailing proposed change in division structure in English football

That would mean 100 league clubs in England - an increase from 92 - and here we look at how the divisions would look if the split happened now, based solely on the finishing positions of each club at the end of the 2015/16 regular season.


Burnley's title-winning parade

Burnley, Middlesbrough, Brighton, Hull City, Derby County, Sheffield Wednesday, Ipswich Town, Cardiff City, Brentford, Birmingham, Preston North End, QPR, Leeds, Wolves, Blackburn, Nottingham Forest, Reading, Bristol City, Huddersfield, Fulham.

League One

Wigan Athletic's Conor McAleny (right) celebrates scoring his team's first goal with team-mate Max Power

Rotherham, Charlton, MK Dons, Bolton, Wigan, Burton, Walsall, Millwall, Bradford City, Barnsley, Scunthorpe, Coventry, Gillingham, Rochdale, Sheffield United, Port Vale, Peterborough, Bury, Southend, Swindon.

League Two

Northampton Town's Marc Richards lifts the League Two Championship Trophy

Oldham, Chesterfield, Fleetwood, Shrewsbury, Doncaster, Blackpool, Colchester, Crewe, Northampton, Oxford, Bristol Rovers, Accrington Stanley, Plymouth, Portsmouth, AFC Wimbledon, Leyton Orient, Cambridge United, Carlisle, Luton, Mansfield.

League Three

Forest Green Rovers' Keanu Marsh-Brown (left) and Grimsby Town's Nathan Arnold

Wycombe, Exeter, Barnet, Hartlepool, Notts County, Stevenage, Yeovil, Crawley, Morecambe, Newport County, Dagenham & Redbridge, York, Cheltenham, Forest Green, Braintree, Grimsby, Dover, Tranmere, Eastleigh, Wrexham.