Day, Spieth and McIlroy learn Masters pairings


World number one Jason Day has been paired with Matt Kuchar and Ernie Els for the first two rounds of The Masters.

Day starts his bid to win the green jacket for the first time on Thursday at Augusta National and he will be joined at the tee by Els, runner-up in 2000 and 2004, and Kuchar.

The Australian, whose tied-second finish in 2011 marks his best showing at The Masters, is the favourite to win the event having posted back-to-back victories at the Arnold Palmer Invitational and WCG-Dell Match Play last month.

Defending champion Jordan Spieth is hoping to become the first player to retain the green jacket since Tiger Woods in 2002.

Paul Casey and amateur Bryson DeChambeau have been paired with the former world number one in Group 9, meaning he will get his first round underway before Day.

Rory McIlroy, who needs the Masters title in order to complete a career Grand Slam, has been paired with Martin Kaymer and Bill Haas in the final group to tee off.

Selected pairings and tee times:

Group 6: Tom Watson, Charley Hoffman, Lee Westwood (tee time 9:15am EDT / 2:15pm BST)
Group 7: Zach Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Cheng Jin (9:26am EDT / 2:26pm BST)
Group 8: Louis Oosthuizen, Jason Dufner, Patrick Reed (9:37am EDT / 2:37pm BST)
Group 9: Jordan Spieth, Paul Casey, Bryson DeChambeau (9:48am EDT / 2:48pm BST)
Group 13: Phil Mickelson, Marc Leishman, Henrik Stenson (10:43am EDT / 3:43pm BST)
Group 15: Adam Scott, Kevin Kisner, Brooks Koepka (11:05am EDT / 4:05pm BST)
Group 21: Charl Schwartzel, Davis Love III, Rafael Cabrera-Bello (12:22pm EDT / 5:22pm BST)
Group 23: Bubba Watson, Branden Grace, Ian Poulter (12:44pm EDT / 5:44pm BST)
Group 25: Jason Day, Matt Kuchar, Ernie Els (1:06pm EDT / 6:06pm BST)
Group 29: Angel Cabrera, Shane Lowry, J.B Holmes (1:50pm EDT / 6:50pm BST)
Group 30: Martin Kaymer, Bill Haas, Rory McIlroy (2:01pm EDT / 7:01pm BST)