Ed Sheeran takes on protege Jamie Lawson at Ivor Novello Awards


Ed Sheeran will go head-to-head with his protege Jamie Lawson at the Ivor Novello music awards later.

Lawson, who was the first artist signed to Ed's record label, Gingerbread Man Records, is in the running for Best Song Musically and Lyrically for Wasn't Expecting That, a re-release of his first single from 2011 that peaked at six in the charts last year.

Ed Sheeran

The 40-year-old goes up against his mentor Ed and Rudimental for their collaboration Bloodstream at the ceremony at London's Grosvenor House, with Wolf Alice's Bros completing the nominations for that category.

British grime artist Skepta joins a host of other first-time Ivor nominees battling it out for Best Contemporary Song.

Jamie Lawson takes on his mentor with track Wasn't Expecting That (Official Charts.com/PA)

Skepta, whose real name is Joseph Junior Adenuga, is nominated for his song Shutdown alongside Roots Manuva and FRED, who are up for their song Cargo. The third nominees in the category are the writers of All My Friends - James Carter, Oliver Lee, Cass Lowe and Chance The Rapper.

Presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (Basca), the awards celebrate excellence in songwriting and composing and are highly respected because they are voted for by industry members.

Skepta earns his first nomination for Shutdown (Danny Lawson/PA)

Irish indie folk band Villagers are nominated for the Album award along with Jamie xx and Supergrass lead vocalist Gaz Coombes.

Although Hugh Grant's film Pan failed to convince film critics, it jockeys for Best Original Film Score against sci-fi hit Ex Machina and S&M drama The Duke Of Burgundy.

Aidan Turner in And Then There Were None BBC

The Best Television Soundtrack category is BBC-dominated with Ben Whishaw's espionage thriller London Spy taking on BBC One's adaptation of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None and crime drama From Darkness, starring Anne-Marie Duff.

Other awards such as the Songwriter of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, International Achievement and Ivors Inspiration Award will be announced at the ceremony.